Long Way Around!

Friday night saw me leaving the office early after having successfully done the project transition to the others in the team. It was for the first time in my working life that I was taking off on a long holiday. Long here refers to two weeks and I think that itself is a pretty good steal. I had to rush home having some grub on the way and then pack. I had strict instructions from Dad to not get anything but the bare necessities. I left home for Majestic at 9 finally even though the Volvo to Chennai didn’t leave till 11. I did not want to risk any of the traffic that Bangalore is so popular for.

Now to why I was going to Chennai, well I had a flight to catch to Muscat. Interesting don’t you think…..traveling in the opposite direction to which you were headed. Anyways I had not managed to get a flight out of Bangalore and I had to attend a friend’s brother’s wedding, a friend who I hadn’t met in a long time. The Volvo ride was very comfortable, so much so that I woke up only when we landed arrived at the bus-stand(I think it’s called Mofussil…funny name!!). I was supposed to have got out somewhere on the way but I was able to figure out the way to my friends place. I managed to wake him also up early in the morning. After having a lovely breakfast of idlis cooked by Ma’am and cleaning up, we were headed for the marriage hall.

I wanted to try my friend’s pulsar, so it was me who was driving on Chennai’s sun-soaked streets. They were a far cry from the roads of Bangalore. People here actually waited for the traffic signals to go green before inching forward. And in general, the roads seemed less chaotic and a lot more peaceful to ride on. But the heat and the recently implemented helmet rules did make things a lot difficult. Still maintaining a crusing pace at the same time figuring your way around the city was easily accomplished. The roadsigns are written in English as well, so finding your way about isn’t that big an ordeal.

At the marriage ceremony we spent time with our friends and catching up on all that had happened since we had last met. Like all Tam- Bram weddings there were a number of rituals which were going on in the background which we were least concerned about. When it was time for lunch, the typical saddi was really inviting. And boy what a feast it was. And having had such a wonderful lunch, I was ready for a siesta. But alas I really didn’t have time for that. I had a flight to catch at 6:30 for which I had to be in the airport at 3:30. Chennai International terminal wore a deserted look. It was undergoing renovation and reconstruction and was turning out to be a nice facility but with hardly any flights leaving around that time, it was a boring place to hang out and the entire airport feeling was missing. It is really wonderful when you can just hand out in a new place and watch the daily chores which people do, I felt so unconnected.

The Indian Airlines flight was pretty amazing and something that I did not expect at all. Firstly the food was simply amazing. I had gotten used to eating the stale food served on all the earlier flights like Gulf air and Oman Air but Indian was completely different. I had a hop at Cochin also which gave me the opportunity of being served twice. And I enjoyed it both times. It was pleasant journey with not too long delays. Indian Airlines and to a certain extent Air India have always been airlines which didn’t have a good track record of being on time. But with this flight, I would definitely love to change my opinion on that.

Anyways so now I am at home, eating Mom’s wonderful food but not for too long. I leave in about a day’s time, so do tune in, I hope to post every day while on vacation.

Leave a comment

Filed under China Chronicles, Summer 07

Leave a comment